Thai Days: Why my wife is working from home

by

Hugh Paxtons Blog and my wife are working from home. I normally work from home (an easy arrangement – I am my own boss and can order me to sleep late and watch TV or arrange a cheese and pickle sandwich or go to a fruit market to buy mango at any minute. I’ve never had any labour disputes with me and I like it that way.) My beloved wife by contrast has layers upon layers of bosses and meetings and international conferences and works, normally, from an office at UN HQ Bangkok. Actually she’s not normally working from there – her desk is there and so are some files and hopefully a photo of me propped by the stapler. I find the prospect unlikely! Our daughter definitely. But she can’t go the office and cabin fever is setting in. Already!

Why can’t my wife go to her office? Read on!

RESTRICTED

THIS MESSAGE IS ISSUED ON BEHALF OF THE DESIGNATED OFFICIAL FOR THAILAND, A.I. TO STAFF AND THEIR DEPENDENTS ONLY AND IS NOT FOR PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION

Message to All Staff

SITUATION

The situation in the vicinity of the UN Building remains the same: the roads in and around the premises (Rajadamnern Nok, Krung Kasem (running from Nakon Sawan Bridge to Pratchthipatai intersection; see UNDSS map link at: https://mapsengine.google.com/map/edit?mid=z6f_GP6VA_Ic.kougreHVS-V8 ) are completely blocked to vehicular traffic. They are, in effect, walking streets, filled with vendors, protesters, and various logistical items (toilets, food stalls, tents, media vehicles, stores of water and other items). The main protest stage is now set up at Rajdamnern Nok, right in front of the UN Building (CGI gate) and the slip road is completely blocked. The only access is via the North Gate, and that is sporadic and congested with pedestrians and other protest supporters. There are a number of armed protest ‘guards’ in and around the area, including at vehicle checkpoints along Krung Kasem.

While the activity has been, so far, peaceful, it is because of concerns over access/exit and proximity to areas where violence may erupt that the UN Building has been closed so far this week.

In other parts of the city, there have been no reports of violence or large-scale protest activity, other than the Chaeng Wattana area. The UDD rally continues in the Aksa area, and more supporters are reported to be on their way to join them.

Political discussions continue but no definitive decisions have yet been taken, despite repeated calls for action by the PDRC leadership.

Next day:

RESTRICTED

THIS MESSAGE IS ISSUED ON BEHALF OF THE DESIGNATED OFFICIAL FOR THAILAND, A.I. TO STAFF AND THEIR DEPENDENTS ONLY AND IS NOT FOR PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION


Message to All Staff

There are media reports that at 0300 hrs an attack near Democracy Monument left 2 dead and 22 injured as the result of grenades and gunfire. There is currently no change to the situation near the UN Building.

RESTRICTED

That’s why my wife is working from home.

I sincerely hope that Thailand is at peace on Monday. Otherwise my wife will be working from home again. And I’ll be issuing my own security advisory: Stay clear from Hugh Paxton Blogs house.

Tensions are mounting!

Cheers from Bangkok! Still a great place to visit!

Hugh

Leave a Reply

