THE GIRL:: New post A Proper Lady

by

Hugh Paxton’s Blog loves this latest post from The Girl on being a Lady. The Superman is obviously in search of new kryptonite or whatever Supermen do when they run out of steam. The Reporter hasn’t reported on much but never has done. It’s the Girl. And her posts are always great fun! This is a pointer to many publications that teach Girls how to be Ladies! And Men how to be Gentlemen!

This is a gold mine! And time travel! And if there are any anthropologists reading this post perhaps they could cast their academic nets back a century or two or three and define a lady or a gentleman. I’d start with Henry the Eighth.

Cheers! Hugh in Bangkok!

And Bravo The Girl! Perhaps you define the lady of the future! God help us gentlemen!

From: TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan! [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com]
Sent: Monday, June 23, 2014 6:34 AM
To: paxton.bkk@gmail.com
Subject: [New post] A Proper Lady

TheGirl posted: "I spent this weekend going through old crap and memories, until I found a book that I had not seen in years, it was an etiquette guide book, that was given to me when I went to a modeling school here in the city. Now that I think about it, it was more "

Respond to this post by replying above this line

New post on TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

a4538b691856c4984509fbb1ea771830?s=32&ts=1403480057
9554ce752fdaaa23a8c30aab4c428878?s=50&d=monsterid&r=X

A Proper Lady

by TheGirl

I spent this weekend going through old crap and memories, until I found a book that I had not seen in years, it was an etiquette guide book, that was given to me when I went to a modeling school here in the city.

Now that I think about it, it was more of a finishing school.
finishing school, the reporter and the girl, S.C Rhyne, interracial blog, barbizon, modeling
The booked talked about etiquette over the phone, dinner parties, and other social interactions.

Thus, part of me began to wonder when did I stray from the path of becoming a proper young woman?

Somewhere in the last 15 years or so; I stopped playing piano and abandoned any aspirations of continuing a professional path with it, I started biting my nails and skin to the point of Dermatillomania, and this guy has a better posture than me:
hunchback, etiquette, the reporter and the girl, ScRhyne
The idea of course, of being a proper young lady, is that you are more desirable and attractive to the eligible bachelor.
loser, dating a loser, the reporter and the girl, interracial blogger, ScRhyne
No, not him. This guy:
eligible bachelor, dating, the reporter and the girl
A few years ago I liked this guy in my swim class, and I finally brought my best friend to…"check him out" and she gave her approval of him.

I remember at the end of class after running a pretty good drill, I got on deck and gave him a "high 5". Afterwards, my friend suggested that since I liked him, I should not have high-5’ed him as it was not lady-like.

Apparently, with D cups, shoulder-length hair, and hips to knock J-Lo of the deck, he’d associate me as "one of the guys".

I did give him my number, and after that never saw him again.

Well, its never too late to improve yourself; from sitting up straighter to changing your wardrobe. But it was last night at a gala, when I realized why many women do not act like proper ladies, it’s because of… the men!

Duh-duh-duh

A colleague invited me to this formal event, where I was lead to my seat and he pulled it out for me. He offered to get my drink, and women and guests were served dinner first. Thus, it was a code of conduct that the men be gentlemen and serving to their lady partners.

I sure felt like a noble lady as even my table manners dramatically improved from:
poor table manners, bad etiquette, black woman eating, the reporter and the girl
to:
pride and prejudice, formal dining, table etiquette, relationships, the reporter and the girl
It sometimes takes a small show of courtesy or respect to boost one’s esteem and consciousness. And to receive the same treatment in kind.

And whom you are with makes a difference; people treat you based on how your friend/partner treats you.

Whether its holding your coat or pulling our your chair — a waiter will show you an ounce more of respect when they see your partner doing the same thing — it screams: "She’s important!"

And it changes how you see yourself, and the expectations you have for yourself.

For now, I’ll read through that book, maybe there are some things I need to re-learn, and should come to expect for myself.

So, does your beau treat you like a proper lady?

TheGirl | June 22, 2014 at 7:33 pm | Tags: chivalry, etiquette, finishing school, gentleman, proper lady, Relationships, social interactions | Categories: Musings and Life | URL: http://wp.me/p2MqP7-kq

Comment See all comments
Unsubscribe to no longer receive posts from TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!.
Change your email settings at Manage Subscriptions.

Trouble clicking? Copy and paste this URL into your browser:
http://thereporterandthegirl.com/2014/06/22/a-proper-lady/

Thanks for flying with wp-footericon.pngWordPress.com

b.gif?host=thereporterandthegirl.wordpress.com&blog=41095529&post=1266&subd=thereporterandthegirl&ref=&email=1&email_o=wpcom

2 Responses to “THE GIRL:: New post A Proper Lady”

  1. TheGirl Says:

    In regards to “Henry the Eighth” comment, I never said let’s go medieval on this!

  2. Hugh Says:

    No you didn’t! I was making that up! Apologies! But a great post TheGirl!

Leave a Reply

