Thai Days: Chang the Buddhist rat catcher

by

Hugh Paxton’s Blog employs quite a few people. Chang is my favourite. He’s a Buddhist, from Burma (Myanmar) and we agree about almost everything. He won’t hurt any animal (mozzies are excluded – extermination is the only goal!) but what really makes me like him is his method of rat catching. He catches a rat and sticks in it a plastic bag and then brings it round to show me.

These rats are HUGE! And ANGRY! And DON’t WANT TO BE IN A PLASTIC BAG!

“Hey, Chang, what’s that?”

“A rat, I am putting him in the forest so he can be free.”

The rats Chang catches are really very big. If you find rats alarming they would alarm you. They don’t say thank you. And they definitely don’t want to be in a plastic bag. They are strong animals. Muscular. Chang brings them here to show them to me. Then he takes them off to the forest. Then the rat is off and away!

I don’t mind rats, dislike poison, and the idea of Chang on his scooter taking a rat away to a new life in a new forest home makes me happy! I find this attitude…Buddhist!

Hugh

Leave a Reply

