An idea. We are Not Interested

by

Hugh Paxton’s Blog is never short of ideas! Here was one of mine. And here was the response!

I thought my idea was quite good. I loved her response.

I still think my idea was good but heck! I’ll have another idea tomorrow!

A good solid “We are not interested” is a refreshing slap in the face.

Cheers!

Hugh

From: Pen Pramoj [mailto:pen@pramoj.com]
Sent: Tuesday, June 23, 2015 3:49 PM
To: Hugh Paxton
Cc: Midori Paxton
Subject: Re: An idea.

Dear Khun Hugh,

We are not interested.

Thank you

The Pramojsali Company Limited

Sent from my iPad

On 23 Jun 2015, at 07:03, "Hugh Paxton" <paxton.bkk> wrote:

Dear Khun Pen,

I have had a good idea. I hope that you think it is a good idea, too!

A lot of people are leaving Thai Village and you want more people to come in and rent the houses.

If I wanted to rent any place in Thai Village I would choose No 57. It is full of plants, life, birds, there are bicycles and pictures, people coming and going, …it’s a home.

The rest of the Thai Village properties look increasingly shoddy or flood prone. Or like next door to us – still unfinished and noisy.

When people leave, the whole area will be even more derelict and ugly. That is what prospective renters will see. Horrid!

My plan: We organize and shoot a Thai Village promotional video. You waive one or two months rent if you are satisfied with our product. We act as your agents in a gentle way and open our doors to prospective renters. My feeling is that Thai Village is a place of wonder! Potential!

Thai Village began to change when building commenced. I still feel that the essence of the place remains. It is why I love it here.

Right now you couldn’t rent anything out. Not even my place. Who wants hammers at 7AM every day?

Give us the go ahead and we’ll make a video that will give this place a chance!

I may become the next chief farang of Thai Village. Not because I am the best. Because I am almost the last! All the bossy ladies have gone.

Please think it over, Khun Pen. Annabel, boating in the pond, trees, fruit, happy people…it would be a very nice video!

Best wishes!

Hugh

Think seriously about my suggestion?

Hugh Paxton (No 57)

3 Responses to “An idea. We are Not Interested”

  1. cumbrianwa Says:

     It sounds quite a good idea, really.

    • Hugh Paxton Says:

      It was. Is. But perhaps a bit too good. And I fear a few too many truths in one helpful letter. If they want to screw this place up it’s their business. Nobody will rent anywhere in Thai Village. Not now. Not next month. Not next year. If I was mean I’d blacklist the place and every UN man woman would automatically go nowhere near here. But I want it to work here! They aren’t interested but there are many staff who will be left homeless and redundant if foreigners clear off.

  2. Stella Says:

    I thought it was a good idea too, but I guess you can’t please everybody.

Leave a Reply

