Invitation to ICC Book and Film Club – Talk on Ghazals by Mrs. Hemal Shringla

by

Hugh Paxton’s Blog feels this event would be suitable to anybody resident in Bangkok with an interest in India. The Indian Cultural Centre regularly organizes things, all are free. I’d suggest joining their mailing list if this is your cup of tea! I’d be attending this event out of interest in the history if there was no mention of Bollywood but Bollywood makes me feel sick. I can’t watch it. Millions can. I remember seeing an eager queue in front of a ramshackle village theatre in Myanmar, in the delta. Everybody I met was killed in the terrible tsunami. But before that happened I asked one of them why they were watching this rubbish. He gave me a gleeful, slightly cunning smile, “Indian films last longer!” Yes, well… they do, actually. Another reason I can’t stand them. What I want from a film is quality not quantity and I do like a plot that doesn’t suddenly dissolve for no logical reason into a load of people suddenly singing and dancing.

But I’m outvoted on this one. 100 million Indians vs One Hugh.

I’m currently writing a film script and there will be not one hint, not one whiff of Bollywood about it. It will hit the silver screen without anybody singing and dancing and no flowers falling from heaven – my movie aims to be the scariest monster movie ever to come out of Africa. Perhaps Bollywood might buy rights and adapt it. If that should be the case, I won’t watch it.

But this ICC event will be fun – their events always are – and just because I hate Bollywood doesn’t mean you should hate it, too!

Enjoy the evening! And wait for my movie!

Hugh in Bangkok

From: Indian Cultural Centre Bangkok [mailto:dokbua.iccbkk@gmail.com]
Sent: Friday, October 23, 2015 3:23 PM
To: undisclosed-recipients:
Subject: Invitation to ICC Book and Film Club – Talk on Ghazals by Mrs. Hemal Shringla

Dear Friends,

INDIAN CULTURAL CENTRE, EMBASSY OF INDIA, BOOK AND FILM CLUB WOULD LIKE TO INVITE EVERYONE TO A TALK ON ‘GHAZALS’ BY MRS. HEMAL SHRINGLA AT INDIAN CULTURAL CENTRE ON OCTOBER 30, 2015 AT 11:00 A.M.
The Ghazal entered India from Arabia via Persia in the 10th century C.E., reaching its zenith in the royal courts of the 18th century. Today it has reinvented itself as postmodern urban poetry as well as Bollywood song. What are the reasons for its enduring popularity?

Please email or call ICC for reserving your seat
Email – iccbangkok1
Telephone number – 022615301/022615302

Kind regards,

Malathi Rao Vadapalli

Director,
Indian Cultural Centre,

23 Floor Lake Rajada 193/101

Rajadapisek Road, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110

Tuesday – Saturday, 10.00 am – 6.30 pm

Mob: 089501 7088

Website: www.iccbangkok.org

Please visit our Facebook page

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Indian-Cultural-Centre-Bangkok/378906022230203

and "LIKE" it for regular information

Leave a Reply

