New post on Anilbalan’s Ghost Cities Blog Number 13 by M R James

by

Hugh Paxton’s Blog always enjoys receiving the latest post from Anilbalan, particularly now as my broken arm has yet to fully heal and still makes turning the pages of a book quite painful. “Boo hoo,” say you, “Poor Hugh! You shouldn’t have been horsing around with a football trying to impress your daughter with your fancy footwork in a confined front yard cluttered with stray flip flops, plant pots, bicycles, dog food bowls (we have five! And only one dog!), one at food bowl (I don’t know why that damn thing’s still getting underfoot –we had a cat but a four to six meter long Burmese python ate it over two weeks ago! I watched the work in progress) and a tricycle (no idea who that belongs too, or why it appeared by my front door). If you are saying that I can’t really argue. All I can promise is that I won’t be doing it again! Broken arms and dislocated shoulders are a pain!

But enough of my woes – read and listen on. Number 13 is one of my favourite MR James tales. I haven’t yet heard the BBC Radio version but the BBC dramatized the story in the 1970s and it is very eerie. I have the DVD somewhere – the whole BBC MR James series is excellent with the exception of one episode starring John Hurt “Whistle and I’ll Come” which is utterly lamentable.

Cheers!

A slightly inconvenienced Hugh in Bangkok

From: Ghost Cities [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com]
Sent: Sunday, November 29, 2015 5:02 PM
To: paxton.bkk@gmail.com
Subject: [New post] Number 13 by M R James

ghostcities posted: "One of the joys of the festive season for me is enjoying a good, old-fashioned, spooky tale so, in the run-up to Christmas, I will be posting ghost stories from years past. The first of these is a masterly BBC adaptation of M R James’ classic Number 13: "

Respond to this post by replying above this line

New post on Ghost Cities

428d7275e7edf3274bffe1efbfd09857?s=32&d=http%3A%2F%2Fs0.wp.com%2Fi%2Femails%2Fblavatar.png&ts=1448791341
99cc285c90a3d69b2e470c8d9623e59b?s=50&d=identicon&r=G

Number 13 by M R James

by ghostcities

One of the joys of the festive season for me is enjoying a good, old-fashioned, spooky tale so, in the run-up to Christmas, I will be posting ghost stories from years past. The first of these is a masterly BBC adaptation of M R James’ classic Number 13:

ghostcities | November 29, 2015 at 10:00 am | Tags: M R James, Number 13 | Categories: Short Story, Supernatural fiction, Television, Writer | URL: http://wp.me/p1Pozr-qF

Comment See all comments
Unsubscribe to no longer receive posts from Ghost Cities.
Change your email settings at Manage Subscriptions.

Trouble clicking? Copy and paste this URL into your browser:
http://anilbalan.com/2015/11/29/number-13-by-m-r-james/

Thanks for flying with wp-footericon.pngWordPress.com

b.gif?blog=27025517&post=1653&subd=anilbalan&ref=&email=1&email_o=wpcom&host=anilbalan.com

Leave a Reply

