New Post from TheGirl: :Lost in translation

by

Hugh Paxton’s Blog is delighted to receive this latest post from TheGirl and thoroughly impressed by her casual use of the word ‘pond’. Once you start referring to the Atlantic as the pond you are almost on step one of the London English ladder!

I’m not sure what her two-way dictionary is teaching her but if she thinks it will help her communicate with anybody from East Anglia she is sadly mistaken. Mention pond to that lot and they’ll assuming you are referring to something with ducks on it or will ask you to help them rescue the moon from it with rakes. Trust me. I lived there for a year. One local pub had next to its dart board a timetable for dwile flunking. I asked the behind the bar what that was about. “Flunking dwiles,” he answered after long thought.

TheGirl has, of course, picked the vilest month of the year to begin her English adventure. No, not quite right, February is worse! Mind you her native New York looks like a good place not to be at the moment. Even Thailand is a tad chilly. Khun Mee is wearing a woolly bobble hat and at least five layers of clothing. She looks like a fat elf. My sister-in-law, Kimmie, knitted me something even more outré. I may be wearing it when I go to pick up my inconvenient daughter from another football fixture conveniently located several hours away.

If TheGirl has romantic yearnings I’d suggest she seeks out a place of warmth. Anybody mad enough to even consider a museum date at this time of year is either a museum curator or is an exhibit creaking around the vaults wrapped in bandages in search of Queen Imhotep’s escaped undead cat.

Suggested reading list for TheGirl vis a vis learning English: Anything written by Bill Bryson about US and England.

Suggested DVD viewing for London English language education: Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels (or was that four smoking barrels?), Quadrophenia, The Long Good Friday, Anything with that ponce Hugh Grant in it. The Queen.

Best of luck to TheGirl! And my thanks for keeping us all informed of her adventures!

Stiff upper lip, darlin’!

Hugh

From: TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan! [mailto:donotreply@wordpress.com]
Sent: Sunday, January 24, 2016 10:58 PM
To: paxton.bkk@gmail.com
Subject: [New post] Lost in Translation

TheGirl posted: "So I just bought this two-way dictionary, because apparently I do not speak English. So, I do not want to offend anyone and I also don’t want to be taken advantage of by unscrupulous shop-keepers. Well, look on the bright side, I can always add it to my "

New post on TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Lost in Translation

by TheGirl

So I just bought this two-way dictionary, because apparently I do not speak English. So, I do not want to offend anyone and I also don’t want to be taken advantage of by unscrupulous shop-keepers.

Well, look on the bright side, I can always add it to my resume/CV as another foreign language that I can converse in.

This past week, I have been integrating into campus life and meeting my PhD supervisors. They seem less cold in person, but maybe that has to do with the "freezing 45F/6C weather" than me. I’m sure things will warm up soon.

Overall, trying to stay positive and thanks to the advice of many good folks who have been following along, I managed to get great tips and stay on top of all things that I need to navigate the system in the UK. It hasn’t been terribly hard, as the government here likes to post things in plain English, rather than Legalese.

From https://blogs.adobe.com

The number one question from friends and family from NYC: have you met any hot guys yet?

Oh yeah, London is full of sophisticated blokes in top hats and carrying handkerchiefs who just can’t wait to take me to the museum. I’ve just been tripping over them the last two and half weeks since I landed here!

But seriously, no.

During the winter time, Londoners and Brits in general seem to want to go into hibernation and sit in their living rooms with the curtains drawn up. Especially on a grey day like this with subfreezing temperatures of 55F/13C. Just look how nasty it was on my morning run as I discovered a quaint little town called Mill Hill.

This was actually beautiful!

Meanwhile, New Yorkers who are facing a state of an emergency #WinterStormJonas who dumped well over 12 inches of snow reacted by buying every last loaf of bread in the city and proceeded to throw chunks of bread at Sanitation workers.

A Snow Day

Oh well, will be interesting to see how Brits react when the storm comes visits us next.

Lol, soon things will brighten up on both sides of the pond. But until then, cheerios!

Tweet me @ReporterandGirl

Or like my page on Facebook.

TheGirl | January 24, 2016 at 10:57 am | Tags: british dating, British English, jogging, Mill Hill, musings, winter storm jonas | Categories: Musings and Life | URL: http://wp.me/p2MqP7-va

Unsubscribe to no longer receive posts from TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!.
Change your email settings at Manage Subscriptions.

Trouble clicking? Copy and paste this URL into your browser:
http://thereporterandthegirl.com/2016/01/24/lost-in-translation/

Thanks for flying with WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

