New post from TheGirl: Friday’s Peas Mashed

by

Fish and chips. Mushy peas! TheGirl’s going to find herself being English despite her more sensible instincts! But if she really wants to join the England clan it’s called fish and chips. Not fish n’ chips. Peas are mushy. Not mashed.

Buy a curry from a fish and chip shop. It’s nothing like a curry but it’s fun! You spill it on your trousers in the car.

I always opt for the jumbo sausage.

And the crisps, and two pickled eggs. The fish and chips as well. If I’m really feeling patriotic I order a soft drink that everybody else in the world stopped drinking fifty years ago.

I am describing a Cumbrian fish and chip shop. Located conveniently in Shap. Not a London fish and chip shop.

For fish and chips Shap is my advice!

Perfection!

Hugh

Over to TheReporterandTheGirl!

From: TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan! [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com]
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:25 AM
To: paxton.bkk@gmail.com
Subject: [New post] Friday’s Peas Mashed

TheGirl posted: "Oy, if there is one thing I can get used to living in this country, its fish n’ chips. Despite how easy it is to make this dish, I’m pretty sure I have not had it since I’ve last been to the U.K. in 2007. On Friday, I had this plate for lunch and opted t"

Respond to this post by replying above this line

New post on TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Friday’s Peas Mashed

by TheGirl

Oy, if there is one thing I can get used to living in this country, its fish n’ chips. Despite how easy it is to make this dish, I’m pretty sure I have not had it since I’ve last been to the U.K. in 2007.

On Friday, I had this plate for lunch and opted to go with mashed peas (or peas mashed) as I cannot stand peas, and was hoping the fish would cover the taste. Alas, it did not ruin my desire for this simple but filling meal.

So Americanos, here’s a history lesson brought to you via Wikipedia:

Fish and chips became a staple meal to the English working class through the development of trawl fishing in the North Sea. This provided delivery of fresh fish to the urban areas throughout the U.K. The meal was originally served in a wrapping of old newspapers, but this practice largely ceased as a result of a European Union directives, thus plain paper, cardboard, or plastic are used instead.

By mid-19th century the dish became popular in London and southeast England, and we begin to see the opening of restaurants that serve this dish; this is especially significant as it caters to working class folks. So now people can come in and sit down and eat at an affordable restaurant.

Chicken and chips is another favorite that can be found at these same establishments, I have yet to try this dish U.K. style. However, if the Brits batter and fry their chicken the same way as they do their fish, then I am sold!

Despite the fact that I am not eating as much greens (leafy vegetables) as I used to in America, but more starchy type foods, I do not feel like I’m gaining weight. In fact, a pair of pants that I brought with me is very loose when I wear it. Strange, there must be some sort of European effect that I can’t explain here.

So other than my diet, I have been adjusting to life here on so-so terms. I am hoping that it will get warm soon, so I can witness the transformation of London that I keep hearing about. I’m tired of the complaining and hoping that people will get a little more chipper with extra sunlight.

I am still looking for my own flat. I placed an offer on Friday for what I thought would be a sure thing. But hours later the agent got back to me and stated the landlord found someone else. WTF! You’re the real estate agent aren’t you suppose to be looking for tenants, not the landlord?

Another week, another grind. Easter is almost here, the term is almost over, it’ll be time for me to sniff out new job opportunities as my contract comes to a close in a couple weeks. What can I say, but soon I’ll expect the unexpected as more changes come about.

So peas, fish, chicken, and chips? What’s your favorite comfort food, home or away?

Tell me @ReporterandGirl or on Facebook. Follow me on Pinterest and I’ll share it on my board!

TheGirl | March 20, 2016 at 6:24 pm | Tags: British Cuisine, comfort food, fish and chips, flat-hunting, food | Categories: Musings and Life | URL: http://wp.me/p2MqP7-z0

Comment See all comments
Unsubscribe to no longer receive posts from TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!.
Change your email settings at Manage Subscriptions.

Trouble clicking? Copy and paste this URL into your browser:
http://thereporterandthegirl.com/2016/03/20/fridays-peas-mashed/

Thanks for flying with WordPress.com

4 Responses to “New post from TheGirl: Friday’s Peas Mashed”

  1. Stella Says:

    We have fish and chips here in the colonies too, though mushy peas aren’t usually on the menu. New Zealand’s chip shop menu tends to include kumara (sweet potato) chips, paua fritters, spring rolls, and battered oysters depending on season. The oysters are expensive, but totally worth it.

  2. TheGirl Says:

    I have no idea what a curry is. Hhmmm what are paua fritters?

    • Hugh Paxton Says:

      Horrible. Don’t eat one unless you have had five pints of beer! Then you’ll really enjoy it! I don’t to disrupt your sense of American pride but you are going to be rather English. And will be a most welcome asset to my nation. The nice thing about becoming English is you can be any skin colour, religion, all you have to do is stop somebody bullying someone, grumble about the weather and put up with English people!

Leave a Reply

