Book review: The Salmon – the extraordinary story of the king of fish

by

Hugh Paxton’s Blog was given this book by my esteemed and most beloved sister. I started reading it some months ago and then, as often happens, it vanished. I have just caught it again. Why it was in a shoebox remains one of those great and frequent Paxton household mysteries!

The Salmon. Written by Michael Wigan. Published by WilliamCollins. It is all you need to know about salmon. A smooth read. Entrancing. Amazing! Disturbing. Depressing. Uplifting. Very salmon-y! You’ve probably eaten one recently. Now read all about it!

I have the vague suspicion that I’ve reviewed this book before. But if I have I’ve lost it. Rather like the book. Anyway both book and a review require a new look!

Hugh

In Bangkok (where salmon is on many menus and is cooked and prepared in frequently unusual but exciting ways)

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Book review: The Salmon – the extraordinary story of the king of fish”

  1. Ridgway RiverFest Says:

    Hi, Hugh, My friend just published a children’s book about salmon: The Amazing Journey of Solomon The Sockeye Salmon! Here’s my article about it: http://montrosemirror.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/ARTSOL46ready.pdf
    Tanya

Leave a Reply

